Borodin Quartet receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Every year the Istanbul Music Festival provides recognition to composers, judicious researchers, leading conductors, innovatory and creative artists and figures who made significant contributions to the world’s cultural heritage and whose projects reveal the unifying power of music.

In 2015 the Festival has decided to present its Lifetime Achievement Award to the legendary Borodin Quartet in its 70th anniversary year. The remarkable continuity of the ensemble’s aesthetic values and the dedication of its members, past and present, to the high art of quartet playing,  their commitment to tonal beauty, technical excellence and their profound artistic vision intertwined with an extreme depth of emotional and dramatic power made them the most inspiring example of artistry in the 20th and 21st century.

The honorary award has been assigned every year since 2003. Among its recipients are Leyla Gencer (2005), William Christie (2006), Sir John Tavener (2007), Jordi Savall (2008), Daniel Barenboim (2009), Arvo Part (2010), Gidon Kremer (2011), José Antonio Abreu (2011), Giya Kancheli (2012) Krysztof Penderecki (2013) and lastly Zubin Mehta (2014).

The Borodin Quartet is honoured to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award in Istanbul on 4th June 2015 prior to its concert at the Aya İrini Museum with pianist Boris Berezovsky. For more information please click here.